The Wisconsin Counties Solid Waste Management Association (WCSWMA) is an Internal Revenue Service 501(c)(3) non-profit with a mission focused on environmental education, solid waste management, recycling, environmental engineering and the environmental sciences. In order to achieve its mission, WCSWMA has develop a scholarship program for university students majoring in fields related to the noted fields. Scholarships are open to junior, senior and post-graduate level students, with declared majors and enrolled at accredited Wisconsin universities or colleges.

WCSWMA supports education by providing annual scholarships to students from accredited Wisconsin universities and colleges. Scholarships may be used to offset the cost of credit courses, books, laboratory supplies, computer supplies, electronic devices and living expenses.

2020 Scholarship Recipients
  • Melissa Burke, UW-Stevens Point

  • Sujata Gautam, Edgewood College

  • Amanda Leeman, UW-Stevens Point

  • Ramiah Grace Willier, UW-Stout

2021 Timeline

Application Announcement: Early March

Scholarship Submission Deadline:   on/by May 14, 2021

Scholarship Announcement: End of June

Scholarship payments: End of July

Scholarship Committee

Qualified Students are those students:

  • Currently enrolled full-time at an accredited Wisconsin university or college

  • Entering their junior or senior undergraduate year or working on a graduate degree.

  • Degree areas for consideration as a part of this scholarship are:

    • environmental education

    • recycling

    • waste management

    • environmental engineering

    • the environmental sciences

    • public administration

    • or a related field or other degree areas with a demonstrated interest in a career in waste resource management industry

  • Amanda Haffele, Portage County SWD

  • Meleesa Johnson, Marathon County SWD

  • Pat O’Brien, Winnebago County SWB

  • Vincent Miresse, Portage County SWB


Application Period is now OPEN! 

All items must be submitted by the deadline to qualify:

  • Application Form (online or PDF)

  • College Transcripts

    • submit via email to​

  • Discussion Paper

    • a one-to-two page discussion of your views on waste resource management (waste disposal, recycling, waste reduction, beneficial use of waste materials, product stewardship, etc.), what it is, who participates, what are the current issues facing the profession, and your thoughts on its future direction.

    • submit via email to


Email -

Call - 715.343.0722


© 2021 by Recycling Connections Proudly created with

Call us:


Find us: 

1100 Main Street, Ste 120, Stevens Point, WI 54481