WCSWMA

(Wisconsin Counties Solid Waste Management Association)

ANNUAL MEETING

8:30 am Wednesday, February 23, 2022 Hyatt Regency-Green Bay, 333 Main St., Green Bay, WI 54301 Room: Grand FG

MINUTES

<u>EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT</u>: Gerry Neuser (Manitowoc County), Fred Zaug (Waupaca County), Pat O'Brien (Winnebago County), Amanda Haffele (Portage County), Vinnie Miresse (Portage County)

OTHERS PRESENT: Karin Sieg (WCSWMA Exec. Director), Dave Hagenbucher (Marathon County), Allison Birr (Marathon County), Lindsey Carlson (Dane County), Jon Reisenbuechler (Manitowoc County), Craig Breit (Manitowoc County), Valerie Parker (Village of Weston in Marathon County), Tina Riley (Polk County), Taylor Sorenson (Waupaca County)

- 1. Call to Order and Approval/Modification of Agenda: Meeting called to order by Gerry Neuser at 8:30 am. *Motion by P. O'Brien, seconded by F. Zaug, to approve the agenda as presented.* All in favor, motion carried.
- 2. Approval of 10/25/21 Business Meeting Minutes: Motion by F. Zaug, seconded by P. O'Brien, to approve the meeting minutes as presented. All in favor, motion carried.
- 3. Election of Executive Committee Members Terms Expiring in First Quarter of 2022
 - a. Members with terms Expiring in 2022: New terms end at the 2024 annual meeting
 - i. Professionals: Gerry Neuser, John Welch. *V. Miresse nominates Gerry Neuser and John Welch to serve another term. Motion by V. Miresse to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Gerry Neuser and John Welch. Seconded by P. O'Brien.* All in favor, motion carried.
 - ii. Policy Makers: Jonathan Fischer, Pat O'Brien: G. Neuser nominates Jonathan Fischer and Pat O'Brien to serve another term. F. Zaug motions to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Jonathan Fischer and Pat O'Brien. Seconded by G. Neuser. All in favor, motion carried.
 - b. Nominations and vote
 - i. Selection of 2-Person Recruitment Committee (not needed)
- 4. Report on 2021 WCSWMA Activities
 - a. Chairperson's report: The Executive Committee has been meeting virtually over the past year. Three student scholarships were given out in 2021, and a thank you goes to the Scholarship Committee for their work. WCSWMA continued to sponsor ISWA scholarship for a child (and their family) who work and live on a landfill. Scholarship gets the child into school and financially helps the family.
 - b. PFAS Coalition: WCSWMA has been contracting with Recycling Connections for Susan Schuller's staff assistance to work with the Coalition. A new website about PFAS from the solid waste industry was developed and launched in 2021.

- c. Dave Hagenbucher and Amanda Haffele were selected as WCSWMA's representative to the WDNR's Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) committee to address deer carcass issues
- d. Jon Reisenbuechler is our representative for the new Battery Recycling Ad Hoc Committee that AROW is organizing.
- e. WCSWMA's representative to the WIRMC 2022 Planning Committee were thanked.
- 5. Treasurer's Report: Meleesa Johnson prepared a brief report that was distributed at the meeting.
- 6. Legislative & Advocacy Report
 - a. Coordination of issues with AROW & SWANA-BC:
 - i. PFAS issues, Legislative Audit Bureau's evaluation of the state Recycling Program, Rechargeable batteries, CWD, etc.
- 7. Scholarship Programs Report
 - a. 2021 WCSWMA awardees and poster display: This will be on display during WIRMC
 - b. 2022 WCSWMA Scholarship Program
 - Selection of 3-person Selection Committee members for 2022: Vinnie Miresse, Allison Birr, and Pat O'Brien (unless someone else wants to step forward and take his place)
 - c. ISWA Scholarship Program: Will be doing it again for 2022.
- 8. 2023 WIRMC Joint Conference: Update / Report from RCC
 - a. Save the date: February 24 26, 2023
 - b. Location: Hyatt Regency Green Bay, WI
- 9. Other Matters Germane to the Agenda and as Allowed by Law: (none)
- 10. Next Meeting Date & Location: TBD / May 2022: Hoping to meet in-person!
- 11. Adjourn: *Motion by P. O'Brien to adjourn, seconded by A. Haffele*. All in favor, motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 8:52 am.